Here's Why You Shouldn't Be Afraid to Build in Public

Photo by Tonik on Unsplash

Here's Why You Shouldn't Be Afraid to Build in Public

You have a project in mind, but the fear paralyzes you, let me convince you to start.

If you recognize yourself just by reading the title and subtitle, then this article is for you. Do you have a project written on a piece of paper lying around in your drawer? I invite you to take it out because after this you're going to build that crazy project.

I show you where to start, why to do it and at the same time I share my experience with you.

Where do I start?

pexels-breakingpic-2923.jpg

Definition of the word project according to me: A project is an idea/dream, which consists in making it grow step by step until seeing the accomplishment of it. To put it simply: Turn your idea into reality!

To build a project, you must already start by having a project, isn't it? πŸ˜…

Think about that idea that has been burning inside you for a while, it could be anything like becoming an entrepreneur, a developer, building a website, an application etc...

Then, take a paper (or your laptop) and write down everything that comes to your mind: a word, a sentence, you can even draw, you have a lot of creativity, do not limit yourself and express yourself.

I advise you to find a quiet place to concentrate, otherwise you can go for a walk and I guarantee you that when you come back from your little walk you will have lots of ideas (don't forget to take a paper and a small notebook, or write them down on your phone)

pexels-cup-of-couple-6177572.jpg

Example: My idea/dream is to have a farm, I want to take all the necessary steps to turn this wish into reality.

  1. Write down my type of farm

  2. Choose the place

  3. The legal status (will it be an association farm or a classic farm)

  4. Think about the number of employees

  5. The finances

  6. Communication on social networks

PS: As you can see, you have to go through these steps first. Don't just jump in. Think about the necessary steps to realize your project/dream.

Why start a project?

pexels-ann-h-11022633.jpg

Having a project allows you to gain skills and experience in your field.

Here is the motto you have already read and seen on twitter or elsewhere: #LearnByDoing

The concept is simple you learn by doing. Starting a project allows you to see what you are good at and what you are not so good at, so it also allows you to discover new ways of doing things, see new formulas, lines of code etc... no matter what project you choose.

I really encourage you to start your project, you will see what you can do that you didn't think you were capable of doing, as important as mistakes are.

Yes, the mistakes are there to tell you that there is something wrong but also to make you understand why and to look for the solution. This will be useful for the continuation of your project.

Making mistakes is the key to moving forward!

pexels-brett-jordan-7952673.jpg

If you don't make mistakes how do you learn, sometimes you will have to go through this step so don't be afraid to make mistakes. By making mistakes you will gain experience because you will be able to find the solution by explaining your mistake easily.

Can you imagine if Thomas Edison had given up on the first try we would never have known this quote: I didn't fail. I have simply found 10,000 solutions that don't work.

Or Wilson Churchill's phrase: Success is going from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.

I have only one thing to say to you: LEARN BY FAILING!

IT'S TIME TO SHOW YOU!!!

pexels-daria-shevtsova-3629537.jpg

I reassure you that I am not asking you to film yourself working (a good idea, isn't it?)

Otherwise, what I really invite you to do is to just write daily what you learn simply by using the hashtag #buildinpublic

The goal is not to make a novel, just write as you speak the rest we do not care, you're not here to impress Molière!

For example in my project I write every day what I do, I also post pictures. But you're going to tell me what's the point?

I see my progress, it makes me work on my communication (when I have to talk with people), work on my writing style, get in the habit of posting on twitter and also learn to be a content creator at the same time. 😏

It takes me out of my comfort zone!

That's a lot, isn't it? This is what you get for showing up every day!

I know you're looking forward to this part where I tell you about my journey. C'MON!

My Project

I would tell the truth and nothing but the truth βœ‹πŸΎ

I had this project in mind for a while, but doing it in public was intimidating, I didn't feel up to it, I was thinking about what people could say, if I was wrong etc. ....

I hesitated it's true, and I started on April 26, 2022.

The goal of this project is to build the portfolio from scratch, I could take a ready made one but I wanted to do it by myself. To have a portfolio that looks like me as I imagine it.

Can you imagine thinking of something and creating it in the next few minutes? What Pride!

pexels-miguel-Γ‘-padriΓ±Γ‘n-1111372.jpg

This is how I did it, every day I wrote down what I was learning in total transparency, sharing my good things and my mistakes.

During this journey, I simply described what I had in me, I didn't try to write in good English, I let my creativity speak.

I didn't do long threads, I am not an expert, I am only a beginner and I will become competent in this field as I go along.

And it's in these moments that you see what is the life of a content creator, because it's a lot of work, write edit delete rewrite resuppress add and finally delete everything and repeat.

It's by practicing that I learn again, if you don't know what to say don't bother and just post a picture.

Not everything will be perfect at first, you will have moments of doubt, bad thoughts but please don't let them hurt you.

In summary, I share my experience and turn it into a blog post (like this one) to encourage people to get started, and not repeat the same mistakes I made.

What I have also discovered on my journey is that you have to persevere and not give up, yes the road is long but it is worth it. It is in the discomfort that you become a new person.

Now I'm posting some pictures of my tweets:

THE BEGINNING

20220524_114949.jpg

EXAMPLE OF A DESCRIPTION OF MY JOURNEY

20220524_113548.jpg

ADD A LITTLE HUMOR πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

20220524_113638.jpg

ALSO HESITATION/DOUBT 😭

20220524_114037.jpg

A LITTLE ADVERTISING FOR MY BLOG πŸ˜‚

20220524_120235.jpg

𝐼 𝑖𝑛𝑣𝑖𝑑𝑒 π‘¦π‘œπ‘’ π‘‘π‘œ π‘Ÿπ‘’π‘Žπ‘‘ π‘šπ‘¦ π‘™π‘Žπ‘ π‘‘ 2 π‘Žπ‘Ÿπ‘‘π‘–π‘π‘™π‘’π‘  𝑏𝑦 π‘‘β„Žπ‘’ π‘€π‘Žπ‘¦ πŸ‘‡πŸΎ

aK3__M9L3.webp code-and-shine.hashnode.dev/how-i-became-a-..

74SubVXnu.webp code-and-shine.hashnode.dev/disability-and-..

#####BONUS : π‘‡π‘’π‘Ÿπ‘› π‘Œπ‘œπ‘’π‘Ÿ πΌπ‘‘π‘’π‘Ž πΌπ‘›π‘‘π‘œ π‘…π‘’π‘Žπ‘™π‘–π‘‘π‘¦! πŸ’‘

pexels-uzunov-rostislav-5269530.jpg

♦ Write your idea with your goals then execute accomplished small actions that will lead to your goals.

♦ There is not one solution but SOLUTIONS for every problem, try several things and don't focus only on the 1st solution.

♦ Write down your progress and share your journey on twitter

♦ Ask for help and don't stay alone, by moving forward with others you go further.

♦ Don't close the door to comments that will allow your ideas to take another dimension.

♦ Be surrounded by good positive people who believe in you, who support you in what you do.

♦ Don't put off until tomorrow and start that project today.

TIP OF THE DAY

20220524_114905.jpg

I hope that with this article I have made you want to start this project.

Personally writing to you makes me want to start another project.

𝑰 𝑩𝑬𝑳𝑰𝑬𝑽𝑬 𝑰𝑡 𝒀𝑢𝑼! β™₯β™₯ You Can Do It And I Proud Of You! 🌹

We are already at the end of the article, put everything in place to start your project now. Don't hesitate to read again if you don't remember and SHARE YOUR JOURNEY, we're moving forward together!!

Tell me in comments what you are working on right now, I want to know. See you on Twitter!

Put your fear aside, and build this project.

You're building a project, DON'T BE ALONE & LET'S PROGRESS TOGETHER!

Rose et Beige Fleurs Moderne Artisan Entreprise X-Frame Bannière (1).png

Β