How I Became A Web Developer: Here My Story!

How I Became A Web Developer: Here My Story!

Photo by Jexo on Unsplash

You want to know how I became a web developer you are in the right place and Welcome to my 1st article. I will tell you my story.

The story of a girl with no goals, going through depression who became a self-taught web developer.

Here is my story.

Happiness before disaster

Colorful emotions flashcards.png

In 2015, I get my degree. So far so good, but then comes the disaster, I had not found a school. I clearly had no idea what to do next, what my future would look like. The years go by and I stagnate, NO CHANGE...

In 2016, I attempt a prep class to become an Auxiliary for child, but I didn't expect this...

Keep reading to find out more!

THIS BAD CHOICE that DESTROYED my health

Brown Playful Simple Question Animal Facebook Post (2).png

I had a choice between 2 projects: be a web redactor or an auxiliary for child. I took the bad choice.

Let me explain to you, I liked what I was doing, or so I thought. I usually understood a little bit of the courses, the logic tests were a nightmare.

The worst was when I had to take the oral exams, I even ended up leaving the class in tears.

Lack of self-confidence, stress, sick all the time. As a result, I ended up in DEPRESSION.

This path did not match me at all, to tell you the truth, I chose to do this to make my parents proud of me. BAD CHOICE.

September 2017, I discovered that I had a disease. At that moment I thought that my life would never be the same.

That my future was uncertain, should I put aside those projects and dreams I had in my heart?

Answer in the next article. (Disability and Tech? YES I'TS POSSIBLE!)

Let's talk now, about this day that will totally ILLUMINATE my mind.

THE DISCOVERY that will LITERALLY CHANGE MY LIFE!

altumcode-dMUt0X3f59Q-unsplash.jpg

June 2021, I had the opportunity to do an internship of 1 week to discover the profession of web developer.

How to tell you that at the beginning, I had not hooked at all, it was incomprehensible for me. But as the days went by I enjoyed what I was doing.

I learned the basics of HTML & CSS, JavaScript, and did my 1st HELLO WORLD.

I wrote my first lines of code.

I also built my CV.

And learned how to create scrolling animations.

All this in a short time, yes 1 week passed very quickly.

It was the OPPORTUNITY not to be missed.

This experience has LITERALLY CHANGED MY LIFE.

AND AFTER...

I couldn't stay like that, I had to go deep into what I learned. I couldn't just rest on my little achievements learned in that short time.

So I built a roadmap, and began a long and perilous search for what I needed to know about this profession.

I had never been invested in a project like this. Every day in front of the computer doing research, looking at tech novels, I went from site to site.

Consulting paid and free training courses. Reading about the pros and cons of being a web developer.

I spent hours, days watching videos, reading articles, writing...

Without knowing it, I was paving the way for my future, and entering the vision I had imagined.

3 months later, I finally decided to start my self-taught path as a web developer.

I know what you're thinking right now, did I have these kind of thoughts like:

  • Is it better not to go to school?
  • Is this the right choice?
  • Is this really for me?
  • Will I make it?

The answer is YES!

After all, if those people who learned by themselves succeeded, why can't I?

So I took that leap of faith, and since that day I am in learning mode, my goal is to become a front-end web developer.

And this is only the beginning...

Of course it's not easy, you have to hang on but it's really worth it.

Small summary & Tips:

  • I encourage you to try many things before you find what is right for you.

  • There is no shame in not finding your way on the first try.

  • Don't be ashamed of your history.

  • Don't follow your parents' path.

  • Get out of your comfort zone.

  • DO WHAT YOU LOVE!

  • AND HAVE FUN!!

If you liked my story or you recognize yourself, leave me a comment. I want to know YOUR opinion. Don't hesitate to share!

Rose et Beige Fleurs Moderne Artisan Entreprise X-Frame Bannière.png

Β